Archived Cashier Training? Anxiety!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

themusicalfruit

No, I'm not open. I get paid to stand here.
So, I was just hired on as a cashier, and I have my training shift on Thursday. For some reason I am just super anxious about starting and not doing a good job. I worked as a cashier at a fast food place a few years ago, but that's it. I keep telling myself that stupid people cashier every day.

From what a lot of you have said, I guess Target isn't a big fan of slow and steady training. More like throwing you to the lions with their fingers crossed.

So, I was wondering if any of you had some good advise to calm my nerves? What's the hardest part of cashiering at Target? Any super stupid mistakes people make?

Relax, you will be fine. If you are lucky you will be get a trainer, when I was hired the trainer was sick so I was just thrown on the register. The target registers are very easy to navigate. If you have questions, don't hesitate to ask the GSTL/GSA or another cashier. Coupon scammers will usually target the newest cashiers hoping to get away with it. If you get a guest with a lot of coupons or high value coupons, turn on your blinker and the GSTL/GSA will come and see what's going on. At my store all cashiers are very friendly and always happy to help out a newbie.

Sell Red Cards.

HxQh9Xz.gif

Okay, question.

Do cashiers have to balance their drawers or anything before and after shift? I had to do that at my last cashier job and it sucked ass.

Nope, no balancing for you! There's someone who works in cash office who counts all the money and worries about that. You just have to make sure you have enough change in your cash drawer and request more if you need it.

Last edited:
Try not to be nervous. Just focus on being friendly and doing a good job. After a day of training/shadowing another cashier you should get the hang of it.